top of page

Express Entry

Express Entry is an online system used to manage the applications of skilled workers who wish to become permanent residents of Canada.

Among all other choice of both Federal and Provincial immigration programs, Express Entry has become increasingly popular due to fast processing and high accessibility for candidates with different range of occupations.

Canada was third country started using this kind of method in 2015, New Zealand launched an "Expression of Interest" system in 2004, followed by Australia in 2012.

Candidates, who meet the criteria of one of the following federal programs, are eligible to submit their profile in Express Entry pool:

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Canadian Experience Class

• Federal Skilled Trades Program

Express Entry consists of two stage, first applicants need to create their profile and be placed in the pool with other eligible candidates. Then when the score of their application is above the minimum intake score, they will receive an invitation from IRCC to apply for permanent residence.

The point-base system called Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS), is used to assess and score profiles and ranked them in Express Entry pool. Highest- Ranking profiles are selected from draw and get invitation. The CRS score is based on several factors like age, education, work experience, language abilities and other criteria.

Federal Skilled Worker Program

 Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) is one of the three skilled worker programs managed by Canada's Express Entry system.

 This program initially has been launched in Canadian immigration program in 1967. Before that time, Canada selected skilled worker immigrants subjectively, based on the decision of immigration officers who chose the candidates according to their judgement. However as this kind of approach was problematic, Canadian government decided to use objective criteria to assess all candidates the same way: based on each candidate's age, education, language skills, work experience, occupation, among other factors. The program has gone through many revisions and restrictions, over the years and is now part of the Express Entry system.

There are minimum eligibility requirements for applying for the FSWP:

  • Have at least 1 year of continuous full-time or part-time equivalent skilled employment in the last 10 years;

  • Language ability equivalent to Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 in English or French;

  • Have a Canadian high school diploma or a foreign equivalent.

For applicants meeting minimum criteria, Federal Worker Skilled Class utilizes a point system to determine the applicant’s ability to become economically established in Canada. Applicants need at least 67 points (out of 100) to be eligible to apply. The program's selection factors grid assesses candidates based on factors listed below:     

In addition to selection criteria, applicant should be able to demonstrate sufficient funds available for resettlement in Canada.

After creating an Express Entry profile, Applicants will receive a Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score. Holding Express Entry draws, IRCC will invite the candidates with the highest CRS scores to apply for permanent residence. They need to submit a completed application and can expect to receive their permanent residence status within six months and then move to Canada.


Federal Skilled Worker Program
Canadian Experience Class (CEC)

The CEC is one of the three programs managed under Canada's Express Entry system. In comparison to other two programs, CEC is relatively new. This program has been launched to immigration system since 2008 and is intended for temporary foreign workers and international students who want to obtain permanent residence status.

According to research has been done by IRCC and Statistics Canada, skilled worker candidates who have previously lived in the country, have more opportunity to integrate into the labour market.           

CEC immigrants might be very successful in the Canadian job market as they have the combination of their skill and professional network in Canada.

To be eligible under this program, an applicant must meet a number of requirements:

  • Have completed minimum 12 months of full-time work experience (or equal amount in part-time) in Canada within 36 months before applying

  The work experience must fall within one of the National Occupation Classification categories listed below:

  • Managerial jobs (NOC skill level 0)

  • Professional jobs (NOC skill type A)

  • Technical jobs and skilled trades (NOC skill type B)

  • Self-employment and work experience gained while being full-time student (for example, on a co-op work term) does not count under the CEC.

  • Meet Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) of 5 for NOC B jobs or CLB 7 for NOC skill level 0 or A jobs.

  • Intend to live anywhere in Canada except province of Quebec (Quebec has its own program called the Quebec Experience Class).

Canadian Experience Class CEC
bottom of page